The Intern

May 17, 2013 § 1 Comment

Thanks to the internship programme run by my university, I currently find myself sitting in the office of a local theatre company as an ‘events assistant’. I applied for a number of marketing vacancies as well (being a marketing student), but this one appealed to me because it was a bit different.

I’m still getting to do very useful marketingy things, but this is an environment totally different to anywhere I’ve been before – an arts organisation.

I’m creating events listings, designing programmes and flyers, creating and monitoring content for Facebook and Twitter, editing the website, and later on doing street promotion work. I’m also going to be at some of the performances – doing God knows what.

On Wednesday I was standing with a choir in Lime Street station singing “welcome to Liverpool” to a group of acrobats that had just travelling in from Zambia. Yeah. Not your average internship.

Even better, the office is tiny, everyone is very friendly, I’ve been given lots of responsibility and left alone to get on with things, there’s a biscuit budget and I can wear jeans and converse to work. What’s not to love?

This is experience I won’t get anywhere else – working for the only physical theatre festival in Europe, doing a huge variety of different things – best internship ever!

And of course, I can’t finish this without a plug for the festival… check out http://www.physicalfest.com http://www.facebook.com/physicalfest @physicalfest
We’ve been working very hard on it, and it’s going to be brilliant!

Tagged: , , , , , , , , , , ,

§ One Response to The Intern

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Intern at thisisvic.

meta

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

